Return to Headlines

Seven Wilson Co Schools Receive Reward Status from TDOE

Reward School List Wilson County Schools is pleased to announce that the Tennessee Department of Education has recognized seven schools in the district as “Reward Schools” for the 2017-2018 school year.  This is the highest honor given annually by the state. 

Only 318 schools in Tennessee are being recognized as “Reward Schools”, a distinction that’s given to schools that not only experience high academic achievement, but also see substantial gains in student growth.  Below, you will find the list of “Reward Schools” in Wilson County:

Elzie D. Patton Elementary School
Stoner Creek Elementary School
W.A. Wright Elementary School
West Elementary School
West Wilson Middle School
Mt. Juliet High School
Watertown High School

Director of Schools, Dr. Donna Wright, says, “By any standard, the start of this school year has been exceptional.  Last month, we learned that the district has now achieved a Level 5 status for the academic growth of our students.  Nine of our schools- almost HALF- received the highest ranking possible.  Today, we’ve learned that seven of our schools have also achieved Reward School Status.  I can’t say enough about the hard work and dedication that’s been exerted by our students, teachers and administrators.”

Tennessee’s accountability framework includes a variety of measures, including chronic absenteeism and discipline, ACT performance, and TNReady scores, to make a determination, and all schools are rated both on how they serve the full student population and how they are specifically serving student groups that have historically been underserved:  students with disabilities, English learners, economically disadvantaged students, and black, Hispanic, and Native American students.

For a full list of “Reward  Schools” announced by the state, visit Tennessee Department of Education District and School Accountability.