Return to Headlines

Dr. Wright Named Tennessee Superintendent of the Year

Dr. Wright

The Tennessee Organization of School Superintendents released the following statement announcing Dr. Donna Wright as the 2020 Tennessee Superintendent of the Year:

The Tennessee Organization of School Superintendents (TOSS) met in Gatlinburg, TN on September 8th for their annual Awards Banquet. The 2020 Tennessee Superintendent of the Year was announced at the banquet on Sunday night. This year the honored award recipient was Dr. Donna Wright of Wilson County Schools, representing the Mid-Cumberland region of Tennessee.

Dr. Wright was selected for this honor out of a distinguished group of eight Regional Superintendents of the Year, which included Dr. Jeanne Barker (Lenoir City), East; Mr. Manney Moore (Cocke County), First; Mr. Mark Florence (Benton County), Northwest; Mr. Jacob Sorrells (Marshall County), South Central; Dr. Russell Dyer (Cleveland City), Southeast; Mr. Joey Hassell (Haywood County), Southwest; and Mr. Jerry Boyd (Putnam County), Upper Cumberland Tennessee.

On receiving this award, Dr. Wright expressed, “I am honored and humbled by my colleagues support in recognizing me as the State Superintendent of the Year. As a whole, we are a close, collaborative group and the recognition by this extraordinary group of professionals make this award so very special to me!”

Dr. Wright has been a dedicated public school educator for nearly forty years. She served as a teacher, principal, administrator, and assistant superintendent before her appointment to superintendent of Wilson County Schools in 2014.

Under her leadership, the school system has seen tremendous growth and improvement. This year, Wilson County was named an Exemplary school district with twelve reward schools and ten schools with a Level 5 TVAAS status.
TOSS Executive Director Dr. Dale Lynch stated, “Congratulations to Dr. Donna Wright for being selected as the 2020 TN Superintendent of the Year. All eight regional winners were chosen by their peers which is the highest honor one can receive.

Dr. Wright has been a trailblazer in the field of public education for decades. She is recognized in our state and across the country for growing the Women in Leadership program. Her past leadership experiences and continued efforts on improving public education will make her a leading candidate for AASA’s National Superintendent of the Year.”

“This is an honor, well deserved, not only for Dr. Wright, but for our district which has performed to the highest standards under her leadership; so a thank you goes out to all those who played a role in helping her achieve this award”, Chairman of the Board, Larry Tomlinson.

Dr. Wright will now submit her application for the National Superintendent of the Year sponsored by the American Association of School Administrators (AASA), and she will represent the state of Tennessee at the 2020 AASA National Conference on Education in San Diego.